Not all who wander are lost….really.

I am about to set out again, not knowing entirely where I’m going but trusting that God’s hand is taking….er…..dragging me there.  This Sunday will be my last worship with the good people of St. Matthew Darrtown and St. Peter Trenton.  Lovingly, I let them go and place them in God’s hand to take them wherever God needs them to go.

I was caught off guard when Willis called late one evening on the cusp of August.  Five months passed from the time I interviewed and the time I talked to Willis that night.  I was entirely speechless.  The air seemed to be sucked out of the room.

St. Paul Lutheran Church, Newark Ohio

St. Paul Lutheran Church, Newark Ohio

Now, On November 28, I  begin ministry with the good people of St. Paul Lutheran Church in Newark, Ohio.  I plan to continue writing here, but may be preoccupied now and then with the business of moving.  We have been in this house for 14 years, and I spent most of those years not able to forgive it.  We were continually stumbling upon the prior occupant’s deceit and coverups of the house’s failings and mishaps.  Most cost us quite a bit of money to remediate.  After the major bathroom remodeling project, I began to love this house for the first time.  And then the call came.   The Call.

I am overwhelmed with all there is to do, to pack, to fix, to clean.  I will be off work for the next two weeks to devote myself wholeheartedly to the task.  My left hand is still quite injured from the Zombie Apocalypse on September 16 (being harshly  pulled down in a cemetery by zombies  hyperextending four fingers) and isn’t able to fully show up for duty.     I  begin preaching at St.Paul Thanksgiving weekend, and will live in Newark five days a week.  Two days a week I return to Mason  (2 hr trip) to take care of Carys’ therapies, therapy for my hand, and take Carys to choir.  Some weekends she and Jim will be able to join me in Newark.

I am praying that the house I have not loved well will sell very quickly and be loved by someone else.  I want to live with my family.   Soon.

In the meantime, David has been promoted to Assistant Manager at Rockler Woodworking, with all the salary, privileges, and hours therunto.  Sometimes the mama bird has to nudge the babies out of the nest.  Sometimes she just moves the nest.  He is apartment hunting and both eager and anxious about being on his own.  We have wonderful friends here who will be/already are his safety net.  We’re only 2 hours away.  The speed limit is up to 70 now.

I am looking forward to leaving on this next leg of the journey.  I cannot say that I will miss

The Good Shepherd Window St. Paul Lutheran Church Newark, OH

The Good Shepherd Window
St. Paul Lutheran Church
Newark, OH

living here much. (I will miss some dearest friends, and our remodeled bathrooms, however) The past two and half years  (in truth, well over 3) have been the wandering, detaching, disengaging, lustrating years.  I am profoundly grateful for those who held on to me and my family, and the congregations that have gently and lovingly helped my feet find the path again.  I have wandered, but never been lost –because of those who helped me find the hand of God taking me somewhere even when I didn’t know where that was.

Thank you.  Check in on my blog again.  Your interest keeps me writing.

About Pastor Betsy Williams

I am a mom. And a wife. And a Friend. And a homeowner. And a dog ...uh....owner? Actually make that two dogs. Two kids. One husband. I'm an ELCA Lutheran pastor of a beautiful downtown church. I am the third senior pastor in a century, so my 10-12 years here may feel like an interim to some of the folks here. Recently I have had no spare time. In my spare time in the future, my imagination inhabits a novel I am writing, The Funeral Preacher. My primary blog is a personal reflection on the Revised Common Lectionary...mostly: "Not All Who Wander are Lost." A few years ago I was on a team of writers who produced a little book for Augsburg Fortress in the Washed and Welcome series called "Living the Promises." It's 101 ideas for helping parents and godparents nurture their children in the faith of their baptism. I am developing another blog, more about worship at St. Paul's Lutheran Church, Newark, Ohio and including a summary of the past week's preaching. Otherwise, I imagine myself to be a musician, liturgical artist, cook in a five star restaurant where the patrons keep ordering chicken nuggets, but never a bottle washer. I know how to delegate and share.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not all who wander are lost….really.

  1. Jack Metcalf says:

    To Pastor Betsy; From Jack, Long time wanderer, and for quite some time of late, not lost a’tall. I would like to personally welcome you to Newark, and I look forward to saying hello when you arrive.

    JAM

    >

Leave a Reply

